Caste System

Citizen’s living in India is trapped by one main system, the caste system. The caste system is a social system the divides everyone into a high or low social status. This system determines your future career. Since I am born as a Halwai, meaning the sweet maker caste, my destiny is to work in the teashop. Everyone in our family expected Balram to be just like me. I am in charge of wiping tables, taking orders and serving others in a teashop. This is the reality in India, no one could overcome this system because it was used for thousands of years. Balram was not one of the usual villagers. He worked his way up from being a sweet maker, to a driver and at last a businessman. His ability and struggles proved him to be the white tiger. Before Balram became a driver he was working with me in Dhanbad in a local teashop. He told me to ask Kusum to pay for his driving lessons, I begged her. When I found an instructor, I explained the situation to him and I could see that the instructor looked down on our caste. I knew that Balram would be disrespected by the instructor after he said that sweet makers will never learn to drive. Eventually Balram learnt how to drive and got hired as the driver. At first he was the second driver and somehow he became the first driver. The good news is that he is finally going to make it out of the darkness because he is going to New Delhi with his master. A few drops of tears gathered in my eyes but I was proud of him. A person that exceeds his caste and leaves this place of madness is one who is actually free from their burden. Another person who was free from their burden was my father. He was controlled by Kusum and was forced to follow her commands. My father listened to Kusum and tried his best to keep Balram in school because he wanted him to be successful. Father was always abused by the women in our family and he was diagnosed with tuberculosis before his death. When father passed away I was sad, but a part of me felt relived for him. He was able to leave the cruel life he had, this was freedom for his soul. Balram was able to release himself from this system; he was the white tiger all along.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oh_xvKLhZHg

The video linked to this entry introduces the caste system. A caste determines one’s path and social status throughout their lives. It distinguishes the high class and low class and the untouchables. It shows the need of all caste in order for the society to operate. The society requires everyone to accomplish thier duty or else there will be a fault. This fault can lead to problems to other caste’s and occupations. This video focussed on the untouchable who was incharge of the cremation process. He says that although he is the untouchable, he is very important for the community. This is a system that everyone including Balram is stuck in. Although Balram was able to break free from his caste, he is still part of this system. Balram has to fulfill his duty as the driver and he is an important role to his master.

One thought on “Caste System

  1. Mr. Ashok says:

    Kishan, i am glad to read your post because it provided me with more knowledge about this country. I do not know much about the caste system, but it seems to me like a system that is ruining everyone’s lives. I did not know how much Balram struggled in order to become a driver. After reading this, I should give more respect for those who works hard to overcome this system. I am sorry to hear about you father, but it seems that your father’s death is a great relief for you and your dad. You father is a great man to standing up for Balram and it is a good choice to keep him in school. Balram is a very good driver and he is a part of my family, do not worry so much about him. Balram definitely different from the others.

Leave a Reply

